I translated Amos Oz

Interview with Zhong Zhiqing, who translates from Hebrew to Chinese and is the main translator of Amos Oz. She lives in Beijing.
The interview was conducted by Meng Mei.

How did you become involved with the language(s) and culture(s) you translate from?

I have to say the way I got involved with Hebrew literature is a matter of sheer luck. In October 1994, a Professor from a Tel Aviv University brought a delegation to the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences and signed an agreement with Ru Xin, who back then was the executive vice-president to develop academic exchanges. At that time, I was working as an editor at the Foreign Language department of the world literature section. I have a background in Chinese and Eastern literature, so my supervisor recommended me to participate in the preparation of this program. Quite unexpectedly, the head of the Tel Aviv University History and East Asia department selected me; I flew by myself to a completely unknown country – Israel – in October 1995. At Tel Aviv University I was helping to teach classical Chinese at the East Asia department while studying Hebrew language and literature.

My Israeli friends told me that Hebrew is the only language that can be used to talk to God but I sighed that this God is far to remote for us, Chinese people. I remember very clearly how I was studying at Ulpan – the Institute for Hebrew Language – together with freshly arrived immigrants and how we started from the alphabet, the basic words to simple sentences and syntax, learning the language like babies. After five hours of classes, we would start a new lesson, so every day we had to challenge the limits of our capacity to memorize things.

When I was studying contemporary Hebrew literature at the Foreign Students Center, I watched the movie My Michael based on Amos Oz’s novel and I was very touched by the way the main female protagonist sings and sighs at the beginning of the movie. In 1996 I decided to try to read a novel in Hebrew, so of course I choose My Michael, and decided to try to translate it into Chinese. This gave me an opportunity to get to know one of the most influential Hebrew language authors, Amos Oz, and to start the publication of his work through various publishing houses in China. This was also the start of a great collaboration and friendship.

Do you have a definition of literary translation or a theory of literary translation you are close to?

When I started to translate, I only had a hazy notion about the technique of translation, but I do think there is a theory of translation to follow. When I was younger, my family introduced me to a professional translator who recommended I should read The Technique of Translation by Qian Gechuan. Now I have many years of experience as a translator, and I feel deeply that an important factor in deciding whether a translation is successful or not is determined by two things: how deep you know the foreign culture and how well you know your own language. Fidelity in translation is a rather ideal state in the world of translation, but that is difficult to achieve. I myself rather practice literal translation.

Do you have advice for young translators on how to improve skills of literary translation?

When I started translating, Andrew Plaks, a renown sinologist who was my research director for my PhD, told me: in translation what is the most difficult is not language but culture. I have remembered this for my entire life and this is my message to younger translators.

This is an ongoing debate but do you think a literary translation should be closer to the original text or closer to the reader in the language of the translation?

I believe it should be closer to the language of the original. That’s the only way to make sure the translation has style, it’s the only way to convey the spirit of the content being translated. Moreover, using foreign words or expressions as a reference is a good way to enrich your native language. But you need to take into account the habits of Chinese readers in formulating words and to polish your translation accordingly.

If you are translating an author who is alive, do you contact him/her and if so what is your experience?

Yes because the author is a mirror of the book. Understanding his way of speaking makes the translation work much easier. In the process of translation you can imagine the tone or manner of speech of the author, so when you translate the words are the words of the author and not your words.

Do you have any translation rituals?

I have a tendency to translate the book and the type of literature I am most familiar with. Most of the time I remain faithful to the original and for the sentences that require changes I ask for the author’s opinion.

Besides literary translation, do you have another job? If so, what is it?

Besides translation, I research Hebrew literature; comparative literature (Chinese and Hebrew literature) and I direct PhD students in their research.

What is your greatest pleasure and displeasure in the process of translation?

Translation is a form of dialogue with famous and ordinary people. It allows you to see the spirituality of a person, to understand his or her culture, his or her soul; it allows you to laugh with that person, or share sorrow. It will never make you feel lonely.

If the people who read my translations don’t understand translation, don’t understand literature or are not even interested in literature. This is a total failure in communication.

Why does literary translation matter?

Translation is a way to travel across cultures. It is a bridge of communication between the culture of one’s native language and a foreign culture. What one can grasp in a lifetime is limited by language and by time, so with the help of books in translation we can understand what we strive to understand.

Can you share with us your own thoughts about translation?

Translation is the art of regret. It is a difficult art but it can also fill people with happiness. Translation is an art that allows one to immerse himself in the process, and sometimes to forget oneself. To be able to recommend a good writer to a good reader is a form of happiness.

About Zhong Zhiqing

Zhong is a researcher at the Foreign Literature Research Center of the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences. She obtained her Master degree in Chinese language from Beijing Normal University in 1991 and that same year started working at the Foreign Literature Research Center of the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences. In 2005 she obtained her PhD at Ben Gurion University in Israel, becoming the first Chinese scholar to graduate in Hebrew literature. She also invited as a visiting scholar to Tel Aviv University, the British Academy and Harvard. She has written and published about and translated extensively on Hebrew literature in China.

翻译奥兹的小说

采访 钟志清, 学者、 以色列作家阿摩司·奥兹的中文译者
采访人 孟湄

您怎么开始进入您翻译的那个语言和文化的?

我与希伯来文学的接触,应该说是某种命中注定的缘分使然。1994年10月,以色列特拉维夫大学校长丁斯坦教授率代表团访问中国社会科学院,与当时的常务副院长研究员汝信签署了学术交流协议。我当时正在社科院外文所《世界文学》做编辑,有中国文学和东方文学背景,因此所领导便推荐我参加该项目的选拔,而前来主持面试的特拉维夫大学历史系兼东亚系主任,如今特拉维夫大学主管教学的副校长、中英比较史专家谢爱伦教授竟把我选中,于是我便在1995年10月只身飞往陌生的以色列。在特拉维夫大学边协助东亚系教古代汉语,边学习希伯来语言和文学。

以色列朋友说希伯来文是能够同上帝对话的唯一语言,而我则叹息这上帝离我们中国人太遥远。我依旧清楚地记得最初在“乌勒潘”(希伯来语语言学校)和新移民一起学希伯来语的情景,从基本的字母、单词到简单的句型、句法、酷似婴儿学语。每天五个小时新课,每天都在挑战记忆极限。

我在海外留学生中心学习现代希伯来文学时,看过根据奥兹《我的米海尔》改编成的电影,很为影片开始女主人公那一唱三叹的优美词句打动。因此在尝试用希伯来语阅读的1996年,我便选择了《我的米海尔》,并尝试着把它翻译成中文。这使我有机会得遇近年来最富有影响力的希伯来语作家奥兹,并开始了我与奥兹和译林出版社以及其他几家出版社长期而愉快的合作与友谊。

您认为文学翻译有没有理论可循?如果有,您最接近哪一种翻译观点?

我最初从事翻译工作,对翻译技巧似懂非懂,我认为翻译有理论可循。记得少年时代家里便为我引荐了一位专职翻译,他推荐我读钱歌川《翻译的技巧》。但现在,当我自己有了十几年翻译经历后,深感译者对异域文化的了解与母语文化的素养是翻译成败中的一个重要因素。信、达、雅应该还是较为理想的翻译境界。但能够求其信已经大难了。有可能的话,我比较倾向于直译。

对于年轻的译者如何提高翻译技巧,您有什么建议吗?

开始做翻译时,我的博士导师之一、著名汉学家浦安迪教授对我说,翻译中最难的不是语言,而是一种文化。此话让我受益终生,在此把它告诉年轻的译者。

文学翻译应该更接近作者的原文还是更接近读者的语言,这是一场仍旧在持续的辩论。您怎么看?我们的译文应该更接近作者的原文还是更接近读者的语言?

我认为应该接近作者的原文。这样的译文才有味道,才能够传达出你翻译的文本本身的内在精神。更何况,借鉴外来语也是丰富母语表达的途径之一。但要考虑到中国读者的表述习惯,加以润色。

您翻译的作者仍旧在世,您跟他有接触或往来吗?您有哪些经验?

有接触。文如其人。了解其说话的方式尤其有益于翻译工作。在翻译过程中,你可以情不自禁地想象作者说话时的口气与神态,那么你翻译出来的文本应该就是原作者在说话,而不是你自己在说话。

您在翻译的时候有规矩吗?

有。我倾向于翻译自己所熟悉的书写风格与文学类型。多数情况下会忠实于原文,需要变通的文句会征求作家本人的意见。

除了文学翻译,您还从事别的职业吗?如果是的话,是哪些职业?

除翻译外,我还从事希伯来文学研究,以及希伯来文学与中国文学比较研究。并指导希伯来文学专业的硕士研究生。

作为文学翻译,您享受到的最大快乐是什么?

翻译是与名家、大家对话的一种方式。通过其作品你可以看到一个富有灵性的他。了解他的文化。走进他的心灵。与之一起欢笑,一起忧伤。使你永远不会寂寞,不至于流俗。

您最大的失望是什么?

不懂翻译,不懂文学,甚至对文学没有感觉的人读我的译作。此乃沟通的失败。

文学翻译为什么重要?

翻译是一种文化之旅。是沟通母语文化与异域文化的桥梁。人在一生中所能够掌握的语言有限,时间也有限,借助阅读翻译作品我们可以了解到渴望了解的东西。

您有没有一些只属于您自己的有关文学翻译的想法可以和我们一起分享吗??

最大的感慨就是翻译是一种遗憾的艺术,艰难为之但是能够令人愉悦的艺术。做翻译可以让人沉浸下来,有时甚至忘我。能把好作者引荐给好读者真是一种幸运!

译者简介

中国社会科学院外国文学研究所研究员。1991年毕业于北京师范大学中文系硕士,同年进入中国社会科学院外国文学研究所工作。2005年 获以色列本-古里安大学希伯来文学博士学位,第一位以色列获希伯来文学博士学位的中国学者。曾为以色列特拉维夫大学、英国学术院、美国哈佛燕京学社访问学者。

学术专著和译著 《当代以色列作家研究》、《“把手指放在伤口上”:阅读希伯来文学与文化》、《现代希伯来文学史》(译)

奥兹作品翻译 《我的米海尔》 、《黑匣子》、《爱与黑暗的故事》《咏叹生死》 、《地下室里的黑豹》 、《忽至森林深处》

译者为YIYI的读者挑选了下面一段自己最喜欢的译文:

她死時年僅三十八歲。我十二歲半。

在媽媽去世後的幾周,或者是幾個月,我一刻也沒有想到過她的痛。對她身後猶存的那聽不見的求救呐喊,也許那呐喊就懸浮在我們房子的空氣裡,我則充耳不聞。我沒有一絲一毫的憐憫。一點也不想她。我並不為母親死去而傷心——我委屈氣憤到了極點,我的內心再沒有任何地方可以容納別的情感。比如說,她死後幾個星期,我注意到她的方格圍裙依然掛在廚房門後的掛鉤上,我氣憤不已,彷彿往傷口上撒了鹽。衛生間綠架子上媽媽的梳妝用品,她的粉盒,梳子傷害了我,彷彿它們留在那裡是為了愚弄我。她讀過的書,她那沒有人穿的鞋,每一次我打開「媽媽半邊」衣櫃,媽媽的氣味會不斷地飄送到我的臉上。這一切讓我直冒肝火,好像她的套頭衫不知怎麼鑽進了我的套頭衫堆裡,正幸災樂禍朝我不懷好意地齜牙咧嘴。

我生她的氣,因為她不辭而別,沒有擁抱,沒有片言解釋。畢竟,即使對完完全全陌生的人,送貨人,或是門口的小販,我媽媽不可能不送上一杯水,一個微笑,一個小小的歉意,三兩個溫馨的詞語就擅自離去。在我整個童年,她從未將我一個人丟在雜貨店,或是丟在一個陌生的院子落,一個公園。她怎麼能這樣呢?我生她的氣,也代表爸爸生氣,他的妻子就這樣羞辱了他,將其暴露在大庭廣眾之下,像喜劇電影裡的一個女人突然和陌生人私奔。在我整個童年,要是他們一兩個小時不見我的蹤影,就會朝我大喊大叫,甚至懲罰我,這規矩已成固定,誰要是出去總要說一聲他去了哪裡,過多久後回來,或至少在固定的地方,花瓶底下,留張字條。

我們都這樣。

話只說了一半就這樣粗魯地離去?然而,她自己總是主張乖巧,禮貌,善解人意的舉止,努力不去傷害他人,關注他人感受,感覺細膩!她怎麼能這樣呢?

我恨她。

幾星期後,憤怒消失了。與之相隨,我似乎失去了某種保護層,某種鉛殼,它們在最初的日子裡保護我度過震驚與痛苦。從現在開始,我被暴露出來。

我在停止恨媽媽時,又開始恨自己。

我在心靈角落尚不能容納媽媽的痛苦、孤獨,以及周圍裹挾著她的窒息氣氛,離開人世前那些夜晚的可怕絕望。我正在度過我自己的危機,而不是她的危機。然而我不再生她的氣,而是相反,我憎恨自己,如果我是個更好更忠心耿耿的兒子;如果我不把衣服丟得滿地全是;如果我不糾纏她,跟她嘮嘮叨叨,而按時完成作業;如果我每天晚上願意把垃圾拿出去,不是非遭到呵斥才做,如果我不惹人生厭,不發出噪音,不忘記關燈,不穿著撕破了的衣服回家,不在廚房踩了一地泥腳印;如果我對她的偏頭疼倍加體諒,或至少,她讓我做什麼我都盡量去做,別那麼虛弱蒼白,她做什麼,還是往我盤子裡放什麼,我都把它們吃光,不要那麼難為她;如果為了她,我做一個比較開朗的孩子,別那麼不合群,別那麼瘦骨嶙峋,稍微曬得黝黑一點,稍微強壯一些,像她讓我做的那樣,就好了!
选自奥兹《爱与黑暗的故事》