A Translator is a Sort of Amphibian

Interview with Renaud de Spens, who translates from Chinese and Ancient Egyptian into French. He lives in Beijing.
Interview conducted by Filip Noubel.

How did you become involved with the language(s) and culture(s) you translate from? You represent a particularly interesting case since one of your languages is a dead language and tow of them are both hieroglyphic. Can you tell us more and whether there is a correlation here?

This is probably due in part to comic books (the Papyrus collection by Belgian author De Gieter) relating Ancient Egypt my parents used to read to me when I was three or four years old. But the real breakthrough happened when I was 10 years and a half or 11. Ancient Egypt was part of the school history curriculum, and I had paid my first visit, on my own, to the Louvre Museum to see the Ancient Egypt section. I recall how fascinated I became with hieroglyphs. They seemed to speak to me – that is indeed the magic of pictographic scripts: they allow for interpretation even when one doesn’t know anything about that language. One can spot a bird here, an arm there, or a guy who stares at us from his eye in his profile view. It is exciting to think that this game of decoding links us with spirits long gone; one feels privileged, following signs in lines with a growing excitement. Since the colors of the glyphs drawn by the Ancient Egyptians look like they have been painted just the day before, thanks to mineral pigments they used (which are incredibly stable over time compared to biological pigments), the figurative shape of the writing is an invitation to decoding fired by imagination. After my visit, I found at the Louvre’s bookstore a booklet for 10 francs, which provided the basics of hieroglyphs. I invested my pocket money to purchase it and this is how I got started.

My passion for Chinese language came later. There was a Chinese teacher in my school, back then, there were no more than two or three Chinese language school teachers in the whole of Paris. In view of my AST I had to choose an optional minor subject and without hesitating I took up Chinese as an opportunity. More than the shape of Chinese characters, I was drawn into Chinese by the smell of the textbooks printed on rice paper at that time, and by the smell of Chinese ink. I also enjoyed a great deal the similarities with Egyptian hieroglyphs (the key system, the phonetic elements).

Do you have a definition of literary translation or a theory of literary translation you are close to?

I believe that when you work with classical and eastern languages, you have a different approach to literary translation. Ideally, what is needed are two separate translations : one that is a bastard type of translation which is close to the original text, remains as faithful to prosody and the semantic environment as possible– such translation is dedicated to the lovers of the language of the work. This distinguished and delicate methodology facilitates the understanding of a text and allows the reader to end the translation in his or her mind based on his or her own sensitivity. The other translation, a noble, smooth and refined one, is aimed at bringing to the reader of the translated text the same feelings experienced by the readers in the original language. This can be achieved only by using a translation that is perfectly mastered, pure and colloquial, free as much as possible of any exoticism, a language that translates the meaning and not the words. Both approaches are humanistic. The first one because it is pedagogical and allows the reader to progress in his or her learning process , and the second one because it makes other cultures more accessible and puts them in the context of universal culture.

If I need to choose between the two options, when I write for the general public, I always choose the second option in order to avoid any misunderstandings. For example in my Impertinent Dictionary of China, I took a long time to think about the translation for the Chinese term of人肉搜索, literally Human Flesh Search Engine as it is usually translated in Western media. In fact in Chinese the term ‘flesh’ also refers to the muscles and nerves and when this term was conceived, it was meant to refer to a search guided by a human, collective and social intelligence as opposed to the algorithms of a computer-based search engine. Thus I made the choice of translating it as ‘online citizen investigation’. This translation is certainly less exotic and much more neutral, but it allows the reader to approach the concept without any preconceived notions and it describes this phenomenon, which indeed has nothing to do with cannibalism, much more accurately.

To me the purity of the original meaning is essential. Thus I always translate the English terms of ‘soft power’ into French as ‘puissance douce’, for example. Indeed when we use the term of ‘soft power’ in French, we create a false sense, just as in Chinese, as what is understood is actually a form of ‘cultural influence’, thus something closer to the ‘smart power’ and thus different form the ‘soft power’ as defined by the US author Joseph Nye according to whom ‘soft power’ goes beyond ‘cultural influence’ since it encompasses all means except the use of brutal power. Those false senses can have a dramatic impact and contribute to a more violent clash of civilizations.

Do you have advice for young translators on how to improve skills of literary translation?

This might sound obvious but the translator is a sort of amphibian. He needs to feel comfortable in both cultures, and must keep part of his mind and body in one culture and the rest in the other culture. A good translator is a quantum being who exists at the same time in two cultural and linguistic states. It is a role game and a reincarnation. In other words, in order to convey a thought expressed in a foreign language, one needs to understand that thought thoroughly. To do so one cannot remain at the surface of translations provided by dictionaries but must become passionate about etymology and philology. Once one becomes familiar with the cultural subconscious of the author in the original language, he becomes a real translator. I also think that it is best to avoid any exotic words or expressions, since the text to be translated is shaped by its original culture in one way or another, via the topics, the sensitivity or the forms of narration. Thus there is no need to add anything extra.


Do you have any translation rituals?

I do not relate to translation as a ritual, because every translation seems to be a first-time experience. It is very similar to when you meet someone and fall in love. Perhaps this is because I am not a professional translator et do other things.

Besides literary translation, do you have another job? Is so, what is it?

I do, because for me translation is a bit like when you drill in archeology : it allows me to maintain my technical skills and my knowledge about certain cultures by sampling some elements, but it shouldn’t prevent me to produce comprehensive work and my own work.

Why does literary translation matter?

For the translator, it matters because it maintains the spirit alive and develops intelligence both on the analytical and emotional levels. For the reader it matters because it allows to practice cultural exogamy which is a healthy way to develop as humans, cultures and societies compared to being self-centered. There is a reason why the Greek word ἰδιώτης – the local person is the origin of the French word ‘idiot’.

About Renaud de Spens

译者的两栖存在

采访 雷诺·德·斯潘 Renaud De Spens,学者,译者(古埃及文、中文)
采访人 马云华 Filip Noubel

您怎么进入了您翻译的语言和文化?您的经历非常特别,因为在您掌握的好几门语言里其中有一种已经死亡,有另外两种是古埃及的。您可以给我们讲一下怎么回事吗? 这中间有没有什么联系?

这大概有一部分原因来自那些《古埃及》的绘本书l’Egypte ancienne, (作者 Papyrus de De Gieter),我三四岁的时候我的父母读给我。真正地震撼的是在10岁半11岁那年。卢浮宫的展览有埃及历史,我那是第一次自己参观卢浮宫的古代展厅。我记得很清楚埃及文是多么地吸引我,好像它们在跟我们说话。这就是埃及文字的魔力,哪怕你什么都不知道,你好像在这里看到一只鸟,在那里看到一只手臂,或者一个男人侧着脸用一只眼睛盯住我 。想到可以通过这个破译语言的游戏我们去和已经逝去这么久的精神去对话,我们会觉得自己享受到了很多特权,我们会更加兴奋地在字里行间追随那些文字。旧时埃及人画的那些字形的颜色好像是昨天才画上去的,用的是矿物颜料,用象形的形式书写,它们邀请你去通过想象破解他们。参观之后,我在卢浮宫的书店里找到了一本小册子, 里面介绍了古埃及文字的一些原理,价钱十法郎,我就用了我全部的零花钱买了它,我就是这么开始的。
对中文的激情是后来的事。我们中学有一个教普通话的老师,他那时来巴黎不到两三年。我的高中会考需要选修一门语言,我于是毫不犹豫选了中文。吸引我的不仅是汉语语言本身, 还有那时的课本,也很吸引我,课本是米纸做的,用的是中国的墨,对我的吸引力了不得。中文和古埃及文之间的相似性(偏旁系统,发音辅助。。。)也让我非常喜欢。

您认为自己最接近哪些文学翻译定义或者文学翻译理论?

如果我们来自那些死亡的语言或者是东方语言,我更相信另一种文学翻译的方法。从理想角度来看,我们也许需要在同一页书上显示两种翻译:一种是混血的,接近于原文,尽可能保留原生词汇的广袤宇宙-这对于那些热恋原文语言的人来说是一种与众不同的微妙途经,它帮助人们去理解原生态文本,同时请读者去用自己的敏感来结束翻译;另外一种翻译是高贵流畅和精细的,它努力让读者去尽可能近距离地感受原文作者那里的那些情感-这种翻译必须要自己的语言足够精湛,纯洁,使用常用语,最大限度地减少异国腔调,翻译词意而不是翻译词语。两种翻译法都很人道,第一种因为它有教育意义,可以让一个积极的读者在学习外语道路上向前进步,而第二种是因为它使读者更容易进入,从而使人迈入了茫茫宇宙间的文化。

如果让我来在两种方法中进行选择,由于我作普及工作,所以我一律选择第二种,以避免产生误会。比如在我的《浅义中国字典》Dictionnaire impertinent de la Chine 中,我用了很长时间来思考“人肉搜索”一词的翻译,媒体共同的译法是“人身搜索引擎” «moteur de recherche en chair humain » « Human flesh search engine » , 实际上 « chair » 不是英文或者法文里面的“肉”的意思,它也包括神经和肌肉。在新词里面它也表达了使用人的集体和社会智慧进行寻找,而不同于借助于搜索引擎使用的方法。于是我使用了中性的非外来词语的译法“网络公民调查”,它让读者去对它感兴趣而不是怀有偏见。这样的译法更好地反映了当下现象,它跟吃人肉没有任何关系。

原意的纯洁性对我来说是首要的。比如说我一直翻译英文的soft power 为 puissance douce. 法文里当人们说le soft power 的时候(就像演员John Travolta在Pulp Fiction那部电影里用那副脸孔说法国人怎么讲Big Mac),其实有一个错误的理解,就是把词义认为是文化的影响,这个概念更加接近smart power, 而不是原作者 Joseph Nye对这个理论的界定,原作者的定义要比文化的影响远得多,它包括了所有的力量,除去凶暴。错误的含义可能会导致悲惨的结果,加重文化的撞击。

对于初学翻译想提高自己文学翻译能力的人,您有什么建议?

这看上去很显然,但是翻译其实是一种两栖人。他应该在两种文化里都自在,他的精神和文化应该在两个文化里面。一个好的翻译是一个量子存在,同时生活在两种文化-语言状态里面。这是一个角色游戏,轮回表演。换言之,为了在一种外语里表达一个思想,应该能够深入那个思想的最底层。为此,绝对不能停留在从字典里找到的那些对应词汇带来的幻觉表层,而是为词源和语言焕发激情。只有当我们相当熟悉了原作者潜意识的时候我们才能真正地传达所有的意义。我还觉得,最好在译文语言和表达中避免异国腔调:我们要翻译的文本总是由于原文的主题、敏感性或者是叙事的偏好而以这样或者那样的方式被打上烙印,因此没有必要再画蛇添足。

您的翻译有什么程式吗?

我从来不认为有什么程式可循,因为每个翻译对于我都是第一次。就象遇到爱情。也许只是因为我不是一个职业译者,我也做别的事情。

就是说除了翻译您也有别的专业?

对于我来说翻译有一点象是考古学中的 “取心”,翻译使我保持这技术能力和我对某些文化的了解,从那里提取一些样板,同时这不影响我去做综合和创造我自己的作品。

您怎样看文学翻译的重要性?

因为这帮助我们发展自己的分析和情感的智慧。对于读者来说,他们可以在文化上向异国敞开,这对于人、文化与社会的发展,比起自我关闭,要健康很多。希腊文中的本地人一次 ἰδιώτης, 其实是我们“白痴”一词的词源,我想这不是偶然的。(完)

译者的翻译与学术作品

  • 《浅义中国字典》Dictionnaire impertinent de la Chine,2012代表奖 Prix de députés
  • 《第21朝代国际与贸易法及Ounamon报告法律分析》Droit international et commerce au début de la XXIe dynastie. Analyse juridique du rapport d’Ounamon in N. Grimal, B. Menu (出版社)
  • 《古埃及贸易》Le commerce en Egypte ancienne BdE 121, Le Caire, 1998, p. 105-126
  • 《中国埃及古代人文与传统教育》Éducation lettrée et tradition en Chine et en Égypte ancienne Acta Orientalia Belgica, XIII, 2000, p. 21-30